The Color of Creativity is Worth the Risk

corporate-creative-2550x1600

When I was in ministry school, I had this epiphany that had been building up inside of me for quite some time. Hollywood, like anything else  is made up of people who have dreams, hurts and pasts that drive them forward. It occurred to me that every creative effort, no matter how small or uninspiring had some merit to its founder. Merit that lent itself to sharing with others who wanted to expound upon the idea and really explore what it might look like to bring the idea to life. Creativity is, in my opinion the most vulnerable you can be. It’s taking your innermost thoughts and really letting people see what you want to bring to life, it’s inviting those people on the journey towards bringing an idea to fruition. It’s taking an intangible, unintelligible mess from one person’s mind and building it into something tangible, relatable, intelligible and even visible. This astounds me. I mean how cool is that?!

Experiencing this perspective helped me to see the world the way I think God sees it. With beauty and creativity and color. The world was never in black and white, or in gray. I truly believe the world was meant to be viewed in color, seeing the nuances and chromatic variety in everything, caring for all without judgment. This is what I have determined to be a “true” Christian perspective. This perhaps is why I choose to find the good in just about everything. Creativity is an effort of the soul, taking something so personal and sharing it with the world. I don’t hate any movies I’ve seen since I gained this perspective. People dedicate their lives to their craft, whether they churn out something inspiring or played up isn’t the point. I’ve learned not to care if a movie is predictable or not. The point is, the movie, the book, the song, was written and shared. It made it past the obstacles and is now published. This is something to celebrate, not sneer at. After all, when was the last time you published a book, movie, song or play?

That being said, and with so much buildup, I’d like to say something about kid’s movies.There has been a tremendous influx of Family movies in the last ten or so years. So many of them have to do with magic (oh dear), or scariness (eek!!) or kissing (gasp!) so Christians crusade. We have boycotted movies about friendship, sacrifice, and general everyday problems on the premise that there are non-Christian elements within the story. This is absurd. What’s even more absurd though, is that I sat through this treatment of “worldly” media and even at times threw up my own protests to add to the ever-growing Christian-complaint board. In the interest of protecting ourselves and our children from the devil, we have blurred out Jesus and painted a colorful, vibrant world in stark blacks and whites, disgusted with those who look at the gray.

This is teaching children in a world that is in the process of learning to be more accepting and kind individuals, that they have light and other people don’t. It’s fostering in them a sense that they are better than those who will watch such movies. I know because I and many in my company have lived that experience of childhood. If you look at the world and see it filled with demons, inundated with darkness, it becomes impossible to see the light. You could say “Hope has passed away when we teach children to hate those who look at the gray.”

Today I watched “Goosebumps”, a movie my friend and I have been wanting to see since we saw the first preview. It was predictable, and unpredictable and fun and boring and interesting. Because that is what happens with movies. You aren’t necessarily gonna find the best movie ever; it’s someone else’s idea. Me personally, I really enjoyed it. It did everything I wanted it to and more. But even if it hadn’t, it’s not my idea, it’s someone else’s and though nitpicking the logic could be helpful, throwing a movie away altogether is a destruction of artistic expression. Nitpicking, boycotting and crusading against those who make movies, TV Shows and other media is petty and ridiculous.

I am terrified to press the “Publish” button on this post because I know it doesn’t flow that well. But I also know that if I don’t, I will never publish anything and my dream to build this perspective will be null and void. At the end of it all, I publish for me, not for the world. It is the same with everyone. When you share an idea and so many people agree with you, money may be a factor and an interest, but it’s really about you and the first little blip of a thought that first captured you and pushed you forward. It’s about building your creativity, whether the world thinks it turned out well or not.

Leave a Reply

